Message from the CEO

Committee 4 Wagga showed why the future belongs to those who plan for it with the successful launch of the Wagga Wagga Business Summit during 2021-22.

The innovative event held in April was the highlight of a memorable year in which Committee 4 Wagga celebrated its 10th anniversary.

With an extensive panel of experts from government and private sectors, the summit tackled a number of important issues shaping a city with untapped potential.

Balancing growth and liveability, facing business challenges and building Wagga's workforce to meet current and future needs were among the topics discussed at length.

The "who's who" of keynote speakers included Member for Riverina Michael McCormack, Committee 4 Wagga patron Kay Hull AO, Member for Wagga Dr Joe McGirr and Wagga Mayor Dallas Tout.

Committee 4 Wagga secretary David Bardos deserves considerable credit for his tireless efforts in making the vision of the summit become a reality.

Another contributing factor was the support of Committee 4 Wagga members Laing O'Rourke, Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Charles Sturt University, Transgrid, Region Media, Telstra, Enirgi and Damasa as well as The Stable, Business NSW and Rewire.

The importance and value of the Wagga School Leaders Program was again emphasised in 2021-22.

Seventeen students representing seven different Wagga Wagga high schools graduated from the program in June after a series of modules facilitated by Claire Markwick.

The students built up their leadership qualities with the guidance of their highly skilled mentors who generously gave their time to nurture these young ambassadors for the city. Committee 4 Wagga is ever evolving while also maintaining the vision of Wagga Wagga becoming Australia's most liveable regional city.

Justeen Kirk called time on her dedicated service as chair and was replaced by Adam Drummond.

Adam has the utmost respect of his peers and brings enthusiasm and a genuine love of Wagga Wagga to the role.

His polished presentation puts him in demand as a public speaker for a wide range of events.

Committee 4 Wagga is extremely fortunate to have Adam and a board with a diverse skillset to guide the way.

Brett Somerville bid farewell with mixed emotions, standing down as chief executive officer early in 2022 after taking up a position with Regional Growth NSW Development Corporation.

Executive assistants Michelle Ford and Sophie Uden continued to prove outstanding assets to the Committee 4 Wagga team. Michelle and Sophie's wealth of knowledge and experience – along with their dedication – are priceless.

Our organisation's other major driving force is the strength of its membership base.

From builders to banks, media to manufacturing, transport to professional services and real estate, many facets of the business community are represented as members.

Committee 4 Wagga treasures this loyal support and vows to return the favour with the extent of its advocacy work for the betterment of Wagga

Wagga – always with the "big picture" in mind.

S. Santrook

Scott Sanbrook Chief Executive Officer

